© Unitar/UNOSAT

الضرر الكلّي

الضرر الكلّي

ستكون إحدى أولى الأولويات بعد انتهاء القتال هو تقييم الأضرار التي لحقت بالمباني التاريخية والبنية العمرانية الحساسة للمدن القديمة. في هذا السياق، يجب أيضاً إيلاء الاهتمام، عند الحاجة، لنزوح المواطنين واضطراب النسيج الاجتماعي.

صور الأقمار الصناعية والاستشعار عن بعد هي خيارات عملية للتقييم السريع لحجم الدمار المادي وكثافة الضرر. يمكن عند الضرورة استكمال وتنقيح المعلومات التي تم جمعها عن طريق طائرات الاستطلاع بدون طيار، والمسوحات الأرضية أو من مصادر خارجية.

كيف يمكن استخدام تقييم الضرر الكلي ؟

يتم إجراء تقييم من أجل الحصول على لمحة عامة عن الأضرار المادية التي لحقت بالبنية العمرانية التاريخية والمباني التاريخية الرئيسية ومواقع التراث. يمكن استخدام التقييم لأغراض مختلفة:

  • لإطلاع عامة الناس على مدى الضرر الكلي الذي لحق بالمباني والبنية التحتية المادية والتراث العمراني في مراكز المدن التاريخية، وعلى الحاجة إلى إعادة الإعمار؛
  • لتوثيق انتهاكات الاتفاقيات الدولية المتعلقة بحماية التراث الثقافي؛
  • كأحد المدخلات لإعداد تقارير حول الحاجة إلى الحماية والاستعادة، كتقديم تقارير حالة حفظ الآثار عن مواقع التراث العالمي المعرضة للخطر إلى مركز اليونسكو للتراث العالمي؛
  • لتحديد مناطق إعادة الإعمار ذات الأولوية المحتملة في سياق التخطيط لإنقاذ وترميم التراث الثقافي العمراني.

المستخدمون والجمهور المستهدف

من المرجح أن يكون المستخدمون الرئيسيون لعمليات التقييم الكلي للأضرار هم المنظمات الدولية والوطنية والخبراء الأفراد، ممن يحتاجون عادةً إلى المعلومات من أجل تسجيل مدى الضرر الذي يلحق بالمواقع التراثية أو تخطيط مشاريع الترميم أو حشد التمويل من أجل إعادة الإعمار.

كذلك يمكن لوسائل الإعلام أن تستخدم التقييمات عند إعدادها لتقارير عن الأعمال العدائية التي ارتكبت خلال النزاع وعن ظروف ما بعد الحرب.

النُهج والأدوات التقنية

صور الأقمار الصناعية

© Unitar/UNOSAT

عند السعي للحصول على لمحة عامة أولية عن الضرر الكلي، فإن صور الأقمار الصناعية التي نشرها يونوسات تعتبر أحد المصادر المفيدة لذلك. تحليل الصور وحلول الأقمار الصناعية متاحة للمنظمات الإغاثية والتنموية داخل وخارج منظومة الأمم المتحدة وفي المجال العام.

في الشرق الأوسط، أصبح تقييم الأضرار الناجمة عن الحرب سمةً معتادةً  كإجراء تمهيدي لمعالجة الإغاثة الإنسانية والأمن والتخطيط الاستراتيجي الإقليمي والتنموي. وتتوفر مسبقاً صور الأقمار الصناعية مع تحليل لأضرار الحرب للعديد من المدن القديمة في المنطقة.

تتوفر أيضاً عبر الإنترنت صور الأقمار الصناعية التي يتم تحديثها بانتظام، بما في ذلك غوغل أرض وخرائط بينغ. رغم أن هذه الخدمات لا تقدّم أدوات تحليلية، لكن يمكن للمستخدمين تكبير المدن القديمة ومشاهدة عرض تفصيلي للوضع على الأرض.

لأغراض أولية، يمكن عادةً تقييم مدى الضرر اللاحق بالتراث العمراني بمساعدة هذه المصادر و أخرى مماثلة من صور الأقمار الصناعية.

مراكبة صور الأقمار الصناعية مع الخرائط المواضيعية

Overlay © UNOSAT and BTU Cottbus

بغية تحديد الأضرار التي لحقت بالتراث الثقافي لمدينة قديمة بشكل أكثر دقة، يمكن مراكبة المعلومات من صور الأقمار الصناعية مع معلومات أخرى.

عندما تتوفر الخرائط الأساسية التي تحتوي على معلومات تاريخية، يمكن إنتاج هذه التراكبات بسهولة نسبياً. حتى في حال عدم توفّر هذه الخرائط، يمكن عادةً استرجاع المعلومات الضرورية من السجلات أو الوثائق أو الأرشيف الرقمي الموجود.

إذا تم ذلك بشكل صحيح، تسمح هذه التراكبات للمستخدمين بترسيم المناطق التي تعرضت فيها المباني أو المواقع التراثية إلى ضرر مماثل، من الدمار الثانوي إلى الدمار الكامل. إن تحديد المواقع والعناصر المهمة للبنية العمرانية التي تضررت بشدة يمكن أن يساعد الجهات الفاعلة المعنية على اعتماد خطط عمل محددة الأولويات، وتجنب المزيد من الضرر، والشروع في اتخاذ تدابير حماية للطوارئ.

طلعات استطلاع بدون طيار

© Carlotta Erler/Picture alliance

يمكن استخدام الطائرات بدون طيار المزودة بمجموعة كبيرة من أجهزة الاستشعار لتقييم مدى الضرر الذي ألحقته الحرب بالتراث الثقافي العمراني. يمكن استخدام الطائرات بدون طيار وتكنولوجيا التصوير الليزري والمساحي الضوئي والحواسيب فائقة القدرة مجتمعةً لإنتاج صور عالية الجودة وحتى نماذج ثلاثية الأبعاد.

مقارنةً بالتقييم الأعم الذي يتم الحصول عليه من خلال صور الأقمار الصناعية، يمكن للمسوحات الاستطلاعية من دون طيار تسجيل الأضرار التي لحقت بالمباني التاريخية بشكل أكثر دقة.

استخدام الطائرات بدون طيار يقتضي وجوداً على أرض الواقع، ويجب أن توافق عليه السلطات المختصة. كما يجب توخي الحذر لضمان أمان وسلامة سكان المدينة والنسيج التاريخي.

عمليات الفحص الأرضي

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

إذا استحال الوصول إلى المواقع بسبب قيود سياسية أو أمنية ما، فيمكن التماس ملاحظات السكان المحليين من خلال الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية لهذه الخدمة أو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. يمكن لهذه الأدوات أن تقدم بسرعة وكفاءة ثروةً من المعلومات، بما في ذلك الصور الفوتوغرافية والتقارير المكتوبة أو غيرها من الوثائق و خلق فهم أفضل للوضع الفعلي.

حالما يصبح بالإمكان مرة أخرى الوصول إلى مركز عمراني متضرر من الحرب يمكن إجراء مسوحات أرضية موجّهة للتحقق من صحة المعلومات التي تم الحصول عليها عن طريق التصوير بالأقمار الصناعية أو الاستشعار عن بعد. يمكن أن تحتوي هذه المسوحات على صور فوتوغرافية ومقاطع فيديو وخرائط تم إنتاجها على الأرض.

تقييم كلي للأضرار في مدينة حلب القديمة

Overlay © UNOSAT and BTU Cottbus

بدأ العمل في تسجيل وتقييم الأضرار التي لحقت بموقع التراث العالمي لمدينة حلب القديمة في أيلول 2012، وذلك بعد وقت قصير من بدء معركة حلب. ومنذ ذلك الحين، نشر يونوسات عدداً من خرائط تقييم الأضرار التي توثّق تقدّم القتال والأضرار في المدينة. تم نشر أحدث خريطة في كانون الأول 2016، وهو الوقت الذي توقف فيه القتال.

ذكرت بعثة طوارئ بقيادة اليونسكو في كانون الثاني 2017 أنّ “أضراراً واسعة النطاق في المسجد الأموي العريق والقلعة والمساجد والكنائس والسوق والخانات والمدارس والحمامات والمتاحف وغيرها من المباني التاريخية الهامة في حلب. ووفقاً لتقييم أولي، فإن حوالي 60٪ من مدينة حلب القديمة تعرض لأضرار بالغة، حيث تم تدمير 30٪ منها بالكامل”.

وتمّ منذ ذلك الحين جمع وتحليل وتوثيق خزينة من المعلومات حول حلب. أنتجت مجموعة من المعلومات التاريخية والنتائج الجديدة صورةً واضحة تماماً عن مدى الضرر الذي لحق بالمدينة القديمة، و ألقت الضوء على الجهود الجبارة المطلوبة لاستعادة تراث المدينة الفريد.

مزيد من المراجع و المصادر

Date: 5. July 2018 | Last modified: 16. August 2019

You might also be interested in...

© OTH Regensburg

النماذج ثلاثية الأبعاد

النماذج ثلاثية الأبعاد هي إحدى وسائل توثيق الآثار التاريخية. يمكن استخدامها كأدوات للبحث العلمي،أو لحفظ ذاكرة الموقع، أو لتحقيق إمكانية

© SHAP

الأرشيف الرقمي

تقدّم التقنيات الحديثة، بما في ذلك الرقمنة تحديداً، فرصاً جديدة لتسجيل وتخزين المعلومات المتعلقة بمواقع التراث الثقافي والآثار التاريخية و

An employee looks at an archaeological map at the exhibition 'Uruk - 5,000 Years Megacity' at the LWL Museum for archaeology in Herne, Germany, 31 October 2013. CAROLINE SEIDEL

© Caroline Seidel/Picture alliance/dpa

خرائط الأساس

في المراحل المبكرة من التخطيط لإعادة الإعمار في مرحلة ما بعد الصراع، تتمثّل أحد المهام الرئيسية في إنتاج خرائط أساس

Excavation site in the Downtown of Beirut, Lebanon amongst the modern building 27 April 2014. Matthias Tödt

© Matthias Tödt/Picture alliance/zb

المعلومات الأثرية

إنّ العديد من المدن القديمة في الشرق الأوسط مبنية على طبقات من حضارات مختلفة تعود أحياناً إلى عصور ما قبل

© Unitar/UNOSAT

Overall Damage

Overall Damage

One of the first priorities after the end of fighting will be to take stock of the damage done to historic buildings and the sensitive urban fabric of old cities. In this context, consideration must also be given where appropriate to the displacement of citizens and the disruption of the social fabric.

Satellite imagery and remote sensing are practical options for quickly assessing the amount of physical destruction and the density of damage. Where necessary, the collected information can be supplemented and refined by way of drone reconnaissance, ground surveys or crowdsourcing.

How can an overall damage assessment be used?

An assessment is performed in order to obtain an overview of the physical damage done to the historic urban fabric, principal historic buildings and heritage sites. It can be used for various purposes:

  • to inform the general public about the overall damage inflicted on buildings, physical infrastructure and urban heritage in historic city centres, and about the need for reconstruction;
  • to document violations of international conventions on the protection of cultural heritage;
  • as an input for preparing reports on the need for protection and recovery, e.g. for submitting State of Conservation Reports on World Heritage Sites in Danger to the UNESCO World Heritage Centre;
  • for identifying potential reconstruction priorities in the context of planning for the recovery and restoration of urban cultural heritage.

Users and target audience

The main users of overall damage assessments are likely to be international and national organisations and individual experts, who need the information typically in order to record the extent of damage to heritage sites, plan restoration projects, or mobilise funding for reconstruction.

The assessments can also be used by the media when reporting on atrocities committed during the conflict and on post-war conditions.

TECHNICAL APPROACHES AND INSTRUMENTS

Satellite imagery

© Unitar/UNOSAT

When seeking to obtain an initial overview of the overall damage, a useful source is the satellite imagery published by UNOSAT. Its imagery analysis and satellite solutions are available to relief and development organisations within and outside the UN system and in the public domain.

In the Middle East, assessing war damage has become a regular feature as a precursor of action to address humanitarian relief, security, and strategic territorial and development planning. Satellite images with an analysis of war damage are already available for numerous old cities in the region.

Regularly updated satellite imagery is also available online, including from Google Earth and Bing Maps. Although these services do not provide analytical tools, users can zoom in on old cities and see a detailed view of the situation on the ground.

The extent of damage suffered by the urban heritage can usually be assessed for initial purposes with the aid of these and similar sources of satellite imagery.

Overlay of satellite images with morphological maps

Overlay © UNOSAT and BTU Cottbus

In order to determine the damage inflicted on the cultural heritage of an old city more precisely, the information from satellite images can be overlaid with other information.

Where basic maps containing historical information are available, such overlays can be produced relatively easily. Even if such maps are not available, the necessary information can usually be retrieved from existing registers, documents or digital archives.

If done properly, such overlays allow users to demarcate areas in which heritage buildings or sites have suffered damage to a similar extent, from minor to complete destruction. Identifying important sites and elements of the urban fabric that have been especially hard hit can help the relevant actors to adopt priority action plans, avoid further damage, and initiate emergency protection measures.

Drone reconnaissance flights

© Carlotta Erler/Picture alliance

Drones carrying a wide variety of sensors can be used for assessing the extent of war damage to urban cultural heritage. Drones, laser and photogrammetric technology, and supercomputers can be used in combination to produce high-quality images and even 3D models.

Compared with the more general assessment delivered by satellite imagery, drone surveys can record the damage suffered by historic buildings more precisely.

The use of drones presupposes a presence on the ground, however, and has to be approved by the competent authorities. Moreover, care has to be taken to ensure the safety and integrity of the city’s population and historic fabric.

Ground checks

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

If access to locations is ruled out by political or security restrictions, feedback can be solicited from local people by way of crowdsourcing or social media. These tools can quickly and efficiently deliver a wealth of information, including photographs, written reports or other documents, and create a better understanding of the actual situation.

As soon as a war-damage urban centre becomes accessible again, targeted ground surveys can be conducted to validate information obtained by satellite imaging or remote sensing. Such surveys can contain photographs, videos and maps produced on the ground.

Overall damage assessment in the old city of Aleppo

Overlay © UNOSAT and BTU Cottbus

Work commenced on recording and assessing the damage to the World Heritage Site of the Old City of Aleppo in September 2012, shortly after the Battle of Aleppo had started. Since then, UNOSAT has published a number of damage assessment maps that document the progression of fighting and damage in the city. The most recent map was published in December 2016, by which time the fighting had ceased.

A UNESCO led emergency mission in January 2017 reported “extensive damage at the Great Umayyad Mosque, the Citadel, mosques, churches, souqs, khans, madrassas, hammams, museums and other significant historic buildings in Aleppo. According to a preliminary assessment, some 60% of the old city of Aleppo has been severely damaged, with 30% totally destroyed”.

Since then a wealth of information on Aleppo has been compiled, analysed and documented. A combination of historical information and new findings has produced a fairly clear picture of the extent of damage inflicted on the old city, and illuminated the tremendous effort that will be needed to recover its unique heritage.

Further Reference and Resources

Date: 5. July 2018 | Last modified: 24. May 2019

You might also be interested in...

© OTH Regensburg

3D Modelling

3D models of buildings are mostly being used by engineers and architects in the planning and construction process as well

© SHAP

Digital Archives

New technologies, including digitisation in particular, offer new opportunities for recording and storing information on cultural heritage sites, historic monuments

An employee looks at an archaeological map at the exhibition 'Uruk - 5,000 Years Megacity' at the LWL Museum for archaeology in Herne, Germany, 31 October 2013. CAROLINE SEIDEL

© Caroline Seidel/Picture alliance/dpa

Basic Maps

An important task at the early stages of planning for post-conflict reconstruction is the preparation of appropriate basic maps.

Excavation site in the Downtown of Beirut, Lebanon amongst the modern building 27 April 2014. Matthias Tödt

© Matthias Tödt/Picture alliance/zb

Archaeology

The recording of archaeological information on individual buildings, heritage sites and entire historic cities is important from the viewpoint of