Collage © GIZ

الإسكان و الأراضي و الملكية

القانون الدولي حول حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية

حقوق الإسكان والأرض والممتلكات (HLP) تتعلق بالأشخاص الذين لديهم مسكن، ولا خوف لديهم من إخلائه قسرياً – مكان يوفر المأوى والأمان والقدرة على تأمين مصدر رزق. في حالات ما بعد النزاع، يعتبر احترام حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية المشروعة قبل الحرب ذا أهمية قصوى. قد تكون هذه الحقوق لمالكين ومستأجرين وسكان التعاونيات، وملاك ومستخدمي الأراضي في حالة الحيازة العرفية، والقاطنين غير الرسميين بدون ضمان حيازة، الذين نزحوا أو اضطروا إلى الفرار.

يستند القانون الدولي بشأن حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية على العهود والاتفاقيات، والقانون الدولي العرفي، وقرارات الأمم المتحدة، والإعلانات الدولية، والمبادئ التوجيهية، والعديد من الأطر الإقليمية. يمكن تصنيف حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية إلى مجموعتين: حقوق عامة وأخرى تنطبق تحديداً على حالات ما بعد النزاع. وجهت المنظمات الإنسانية، منذ أوائل تسعينات القرن الماضي، الانتباه إلى أهمية حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية في توفير حلول دائمة للنازحين واللاجئين.

وبصرف النظر عن حقوق الإنسان، فإن قانون الإسكان والأرض والملكية الدولي يتناول أيضاً التزامات ومسؤوليات الدول، بالإضافة إلى واجبات الجهات الفاعلة غير الحكومية، ومن ضمنها المؤسسات التجارية.

الأهمية

إن تحديد هوية أصحاب الحقوق الشرعيين الذين تم تهجيرهم أو إجبارهم على الفرار من النزاع المسلح، وإعادة حقوق  الإسكان والأرض والملكية لهم، يعتبر أحد أكبر التحديات التي تواجه إعادة الإعمار في مرحلة ما بعد النزاع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، عندما يستقر نازحون من مواقع أخرى في مركز المدينة التاريخي، فيجب احترام حقوق هؤلاء الشاغلين الثانويين أيضاً. ففي حين لا يمتلك هؤلاء النازحون أياً من حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية المحلية، إلا انه يبقى لهم الحق في السكن المناسب في مكان ما.

وباعتبار أن إعادة حقوق الملكية قضية وطنية، فإن الجهات الفاعلة التي ترغب في دعم إعادة إعمار مراكز المدن التاريخية تحتاج إلى اتخاذ إجراءات على المستوى الوطني وعلى مستوى المدينة والحي.

في غياب السياسات الوطنية والشروط القانونية المقبولة، فإن أي تدخل على المستوى المحلي ينطوي على خطر تفضيل الطرف الذي انتصر في النزاع، وإنكار الحقوق الشرعية التي يملكها الآخرون.

المستخدمون والجمهور المستهدف

يجب أن يكون المستخدمون الرئيسيون لقانون حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية الدولي في حالة ما بعد النزاع هم المؤسسات الحكومية الوطنية المسؤولة عن تنظيم عودة اللاجئين والنازحين، وعن تخطيط وإدارة إعادة الإعمار. ستكون مسؤولية هذه المؤسسات مراعاة و تطبيق مبادئ حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية التي أقرها المجتمع الدولي ووافق عليها.

إن لم توقع دولة ما على المعاهدات أو الاتفاقيات المتصلة بهذا الموضوع، أو رفضت تطبيق أحكامها بسبب تباين المصالح السياسية، فعلى المجتمع الدولي أن يجد طريقة لتطبيق المبادئ والحقوق الأساسية الخاصة بـحقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية. الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية في هذا السياق هي منظمات الأمم المتحدة المعنية، مثل مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، وموئل الأمم المتحدة، والجهات المانحة للمساعدات، التي يمكن أن تجعل مشاركتها في إعادة الإعمار مشروطة بتطبيق حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية. يمكن للمنظمات غير الحكومية التي تدعم اللاجئين والنازحين وغيرهم من مناصري العدالة التصالحية وإعادة الإعمار المبنية على حقوق الإنسان أن تلعب أيضاً دوراً مهماً في تعزيز حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية.

نهُج وأدوات

تعرّف مبادئ بينهيرو مبادئ الأمم المتحدة بشأن رد المساكن والممتلكات إلى اللاجئين والنازحين. وترد التوجيهات بشأن تنفيذ المبادئ في دليل إعادة المساكن والممتلكات لللاجئين والنازحين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، توفّر “المجموعة العالمية لقطاع الحماية” على موقعها الإلكتروني إرشادات وأدوات أساسية حول الإسكان والأرض والملكية. تحتوي مجموعة أدوات تنسيق الإسكان والأرض والملكية على مجموعة من الأدوات الأساسية لتنسيق استجابة بشأن حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية في حالات الطوارئ. وهي متاحة باللغتين الإنجليزية والفرنسية، وتهدف على وجه الخصوص إلى دعم آليات تنسيق تخص حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية على المستوى القطري.

من منظور عملي، يمكن للإجراءات والنهج الموضحة فيما يلي أن تعزز أيضاً تطبيق حقوق الإسكان والأرض والملكية في سياق استعادة وترميم التراث الثقافي العمراني.

توثيق حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية ما قبل النزاع

© Jens Kalaene/Picture alliance/ZB

ينبغي إجراء تقييم لحقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية الموجودة في مراكز المدن التاريخية أبكر مايمكن، مبدئياً من خلال دراسة وتوثيق كافة الحقوق المشروعة الخاصة بالإسكان والأراضي والملكية ما قبل الحرب وأصحاب هذه الحقوق.

كقاعدة عامة، لا تعتبر السجلات الرسمية الخاصة بالأراضي مصادر موثوقة للمعلومات لأنه ربما يكون قد جرى تدمير أو تزوير وثائق ما قبل الحرب.

يفضّل جمع المعلومات من النازحين واللاجئين الذين يعيشون في مخيمات أو مجتمعات محلية في بلدان أخرى. حتى أولئك الذين تركوا منازلهم دون وثائق، يمكنهم، من خلال شهادتهم الشخصية، أن يكونوا مصدراً أساسياً للمعلومات المطلوبة ليس فقط لتوثيق مطالباتهم، ولكن أيضاً لإثبات حقوقهم بعد أن تتم تسوية النزاع عن طريق حل سياسي.

كما يمكن للمنظمات الدولية والشعبية والمحلية غير الحكومية أو المنخرطة مع الأحياء المحلية تقديم المعلومات التي تدعم إعادة الإعمار. قد لا تتمكن تلك المنظمات من الوصول إلى بيانات الإسكان والأراضي والملكية، لكنها تُجمّع معلومات حول الأفراد والعائلات التي كانت تعيش في السابق في المناطق المعنية.

يجب توثيق حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية  على أساس خرائط و/ أو صور الأقمار الصناعية ما قبل الحرب، ويجب استخدام نفس أسماء الشوارع والميادين والحدائق التي كانت مستخدمة قبل الحرب.

حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية في اتفاقات السلام

© Muhmmad Al-Najjar/Sopa Images/Picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com

أفضل طريقة لضمان حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية عند إعادة إعمار مراكز المدن التاريخية هو أن يتم النص عليها في اتفاقيات السلام. يجب على الأقل تضمين الحقوق التالية المتصلة بالإسكان والأراضي والملكية في هذه الاتفاقات:

  • حقوق اللاجئين والنازحين في العودة الطوعية بأمان و كرامة
  • حق كل فرد في حرية التنقل واختيار مكان إقامته والمشاركة الكاملة والمتساوية في الشؤون العامة والمساواة في الاستفادة من الخدمات العامة
  • حقوق متساوية في إعادة الممتلكات
  • الحق في الحصول على تعويض كامل وفعال وفوري – فقط كحل أخير إذا كان استرداد الملكية مستحيلاً
  • المساواة في الحقوق في السكن اللائق
  • الحماية من التهجير التعسفي وغير القانوني والإخلاء القسري.

يجب دعم هذه الحقوق بأحكام إضافية تتعلق بالبرامج والإجراءات والآليات التي تنظّم عملية العودة وإعادة الحقوق. يجب على الأحكام أن تحدّد مايلي على الأقل:

  • الهيئات والإجراءات لتحديد المطالبات المتعلقة بإعادة الحقوق والتحقق منها ومعالجتها
  • الهيئات والإجراءات والآليات المالية للتعامل مع مسألة التعويضات
  • برامج لتأمين السكن المناسب

دعم آليات حل النزاعات حول الإسكان والأراضي والملكية

© Muhmmad Al-Najjar/Picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com

في ضوء انعدام الثقة في الدولة ومؤسساتها في العديد من حالات ما بعد النزاع، من المهم تشكيل هيئات حل النزاع التي تستطيع التعامل مع مطالبات الإسكان والأراضي والملكية .

قد تكون عبارة عن سلطات محلية أو غيرها من الجهات التقليدية التي يثق بها الناس، وخاصة اللاجئون العائدون والنازحون. على الدول الأطراف التأكد من أن قرارات هذه الهيئات معترف بها قانونياً ويتم تطبيقها بإشراف من المنظمات الدولية عند الضرورة. يجب أن تكون هذه الهيئات مؤقتة بشكل عام، وتقتصر أعمالها على مطالبات الإسكان والأراضي والملكية المتعلقة بالحرب.

تعزيز حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية دون اتفاق سلام

© Muhmmad Al-Najjar/Picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com

إذا لم ينص اتفاق السلام على إعادة الحقوق، يمكن للجهات الفاعلة التي تدعم إعادة إعمار مراكز المدن التاريخية أن تدفع باتجاه مثل هذه الإعادة على النحو التالي:

  • جعل الدعم المالي والتقني مشروطاً بإعادة كافة أصول الإسكان والأراضي والملكية التي كانت سابقاً ملكية خاصة إلى مالكيها الشرعيين أو المستأجرين أو غيرهم من القاطنين الشرعيين ما قبل الحرب.
  • التشجيع على وقف عمليات البيع والتنازل واستئجار أصول الإسكان والأراضي والملكية العامة في مراكز المدن التاريخية ريثما يتم بيان ما إذا كانت الدولة أو السلطة العامة التي تدعي الملكية قد حازتها دون انتهاك أي من حقوق الإنسان.

تجنب تحول أحياء الفقراء إلى ضواح للأثرياء

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

حتى وإن أعيدت الحقوق مبدئياً، فلا يزال خطر عدم قدرة بعض الناس على العودة، أو إخراجهم مرة أخرى فيما بعد، قائماً. تنشأ هذه الظروف عادةً إذا كان ترميم المعالم العمرانية وتحسينها يتوافق مع ذائقة الطبقة الوسطى و يستبعد السكان الأصليين، إما بسبب السياسة العامة – النزوح و/ أو الإخلاء الذي تبرره أهداف التخطيط العمراني أو معايير البناء الرسمية المغالى فيها، أو من خلال استغلال عوامل السوق – المتمثلة بزيادة الإيجارات وتكلفة الخدمات، أو حتى التكاليف المعيشية العامة.

لذا فإن إعادة الإعمار الناجحة تتطلب أدوات للحد من عمليات التجديد والمضاربة، بالإضافة إلى آليات لحماية أصحاب حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية الشرعيين الأصليين من الآثار السلبية للتلاعب في أسعار المساكن والأراضي والملكيات. كما يتوجّب اتخاذ إجراءات لضمان عدم إساءة استخدام معايير التخطيط والبناء كأدوات للتهجير أو التطهير العرقي.

المقيمون الثانويون هم مجموعة متميزة وأحياناً كبيرة من الأشخاص الذين يستحقون حماية خاصة. قد يكون هؤلاء مُلاك قانونيين جدد، تم الاستيلاء على منازلهم الأصلية من قبل أحد الأطراف المقاتلة أو احتلاله مؤقتاً من قبل أشخاص نازحين من أماكن أخرى. ورغم أن هؤلاء النازحين لا يحملون أياً من حقوق الإسكان والأراضي والملكية  في المنطقة، إلا أنهم يتمتعون بحق عام في السكن الملائم و يجب احترامه.

حق العودة واسترداد الممتلكات في مدينة موستار في البوسنة والهرسك

© Cezary Wojtkowski/Picture alliance

أعطت اتفاقية دايتون للسلام عام 1995 للاجئين والنازحين في البوسنة والهرسك “حق العودة” و”حقهم في استعادة ممتلكاتهم التي حرموا منها في ظل الأعمال القتالية منذ عام 1991، وتعويضهم عن أي ممتلكات لا يمكن استعادتها “. وقد وضعت في عام 1999 استراتيجية شاملة لإعادة الممتلكات إلى أصحابها وتم تطبيقها عن طريق خطة تنفيذ قانون الملكية المشتركة بين الوكالات (PLIP) التي أشرف عليها مكتب الممثل السامي ومنظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وقانون الإجراءات الجنائية. وقد انتهى الشطر الأكبر من خطة تنفيذ قانون الملكية في أواخر عام 2006.

تم في هذه العملية تقديم أكثر من 200 ألف مطالبة لاستعادة حقوق السكن والممتلكات وحقوق الإيجار، وتمّ قبول أكثر من 94 ٪ من المطالبات.

في ضوء هذه النتيجة، يُنظر إلى البوسنة والهرسك كمثال جيد لكيفية معالجة قضايا حقوق الملكية المعقدة التي تنشأ بعد نزاع طويل. أيّد نظام قانون الملكية مبدأ استعادة الحقوق التي كانت موجودة قبل الهجرة القسرية، وهو يضع حقوق العائدين فوق أي حقوق شغل للملكية حدثت لاحقاً. لم تستطع السلطات المحلية إنكار حقوق الإيجار المرتبطة بالشقق في الملكية الاجتماعية، حتى إذا لم يكن المستأجرون يعتزمون العودة أو تم افتراض أنهم تخلوا عن شققهم لأسباب غير الحرب.

لم يكن التعويض أحد الخيارات، ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى نقص التمويل، وكذلك لتجنب إضفاء الشرعية على التطهير العرقي الذي حدث أثناء النزاع. وفي غياب التعويض، كان الخيار الوحيد للنازحين واللاجئين هو تقديم طلب لاستعادة ممتلكاتهم وإعادة بناء منازلهم التي كانوا يقطنونها قبل الحرب.

في مدينة موستار، جذبت هذه المعاملة لللاجئين والنازحين والعائدين من قبل الإدارة ومجتمع المانحين الدوليين انتقادات من بعض الذين بقوا في المدينة خلال الحرب، فعلى الرغم من تدمير منازلهم أيضاً، إلا أنهم تلقوا دعماً أقل.

وبفضل سياسة إعادة الملكيات، عادت منطقة موستار الوسطى التاريخية، حيث وقع التطهير العرقي الشامل أثناء النزاع، لتكون مرة أخرى منطقة مختلطة عرقياً. غير أن الإدارة المشتركة للمنطقة الوسطى من قبل البوسنيين والكرواتيين أثبتت صعوبتها. فبالإضافة إلى الموارد المالية الهائلة اللازمة لإصلاح الأضرار المادية، كانت المصالحة السياسية تحدياً كبيراً. فعلى سبيل المثال كان البوسنيون والكرواتيون يقطنون العديد من المباني السكنية قبل النزاع، ولكن حتى بعد عملية إعادة الملكية الناجحة، أبدى الحزبان السياسيان البوسني والكرواتي المسيطران اهتماماً ضئيلاً بإعادة بناء هذه المباني لأن ذلك كان سيقتضي تقاسم الفوائد مع خصومهم العرقيين القوميين.

كما قلما دعم المانحون الدوليون، الذين استثمروا في إعادة بناء وسط مدينة موستار التاريخي، إعادة بناء المجمعات السكنية، عدا بعض الاستثناءات في الشارع الرئيسي، حيث ركزوا اهتمامهم على إعادة بناء البنية التحتية الفنية والاجتماعية الأساسية، وآخرها الجسر القديم.

رغم انتصار مبدأ الإعادة الشاملة للممتلكات، إلا أن عودة من فروا سابقاً وكذلك المصالحة الاجتماعية بقيت أموراً إشكالية. في أيار 2016، أي بعد أكثر من سبع سنوات من استكمال عملية إعادة الممتلكات، أفادت مؤسسة مظلوميات حقوق الإنسان في البوسنة والهرسك بأن العائدين الحاليين والمحتملين يشيرون إلى الصعوبات العديدة التي يواجهونها يومياً – أسر بأكملها عاطلة عن العمل ومحرومة من حقوقها في الرعاية الصحية، ومعاشات الإعاقة، والمساعدة الاجتماعية، وما شابه ذلك. وُصفت حالة الصرب في موستار وهرسك-نيريتفا بأنها بالغة الصعوبة؛ كانوا يفتقرون إلى المتطلبات الأساسية لشعب هو أحد الشعوب المكونة للجمهورية، وكانوا غير قادرين على تشارك مصير كافة المواطنين وأن يكون لهم حياة منظمة وكريمة. من بين أوجه القصور الأخرى التي تم تسليط الضوء عليها هو عدم وجود الموارد المادية اللازمة لمواصلة تجديد موستار، والافتقار إلى الإرادة السياسية والتواصل والتعاون.

© JF Bianchetto/Picture-alliance/maxppp

المزيد من المراجع و المصادر

Date: 24. August 2018 | Last modified: 16. August 2019

You might also be interested in...

Yemenis search for survivors under the rubble of old buildings destroyed by an airstrike in the old city of Sana'a, Yemen. 12 June 2015. EPA/ Yahya Arhab

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

أولويات إعادة الإعمار

تتمثل إحدى المهام الأخرى الهامة للتخطيط في تحديد أولويات إعادة الإعمار وترجمتها إلى عمل مشترك يستند إلى خطط مفصلة.

© Stefano Bianca

إرشادات لإعادة الإعمار

تقدّم الإرشادات توجيهاً لمختلف أنواع أنشطة إعادة الإعمار التي تغطي مدينة تاريخية كاملة أو أحياء أو ساحات مستقلة.

© Franziska Laue

دليل إعادة الإعمار

تتطلب مراكز المدن التاريخية شديدة التضرر استثمارات كبيرة والتزاماً طويل الأمد. هناك طريقة عملية للتصدي لهذه التحديات وهي تتمثل في

© Christophe Simon/Picture alliance/AFP Creative

رؤية لإعادة الإعمار

تتمثل إحدى المهام الرئيسية، عند التخطيط لإعادة الإعمار المراعية للاعتبارات الثقافية، في الاتفاق على رؤية شاملة وعلى أهداف محددة.

Collage © GIZ

Housing, Land and Property

International Law on Housing, Land and Property Rights

Housing, land and property (HLP) rights are about people having a home, free from the fear of forced eviction – a place that offers shelter, safety and the ability to secure a livelihood. In post-conflict situations, respecting legitimate pre-war HLP rights is of the utmost importance. Such rights can be held by owners, tenants, cooperative dwellers, customary land tenure owners and users, and informal dwellers without secure tenure, who have been displaced or forced to flee.

International law on HLP is based on covenants and conventions, customary international law, UN resolutions, international declarations, principles and guidelines, and various regional frameworks. HLP rights can be classified into two groups: general rights and those that apply specifically in post-conflict situations. Since the early 1990s humanitarian organisations have been drawing attention to the importance of HLP rights in providing durable solutions for internally displaced people (IDPs) and refugees.

Apart from human rights, international HLP law also deals with states’ obligations and responsibilities, as well as the duties of non-state actors, including business enterprises.

Relevance

Identifying the legitimate HLP rights holders who have been displaced or forced to flee from armed conflict, and returning their HLP assets to them, rank among the biggest challenges of post-conflict reconstruction. In addition, where people displaced from other locations have settled in a historic city centre, the rights of such secondary occupants also have to be respected. While these settlers do not have any local HLP rights, they still have rights to adequate housing somewhere.

Given that the restitution of property rights is a national issue, actors wishing to support the reconstruction of historic city centres need to take action at national, city and neighbourhood level.

In the absence of acceptable national policies and legal conditions, any intervention exclusively at local level entails the risk of favouring the party that prevailed in the conflict, and negating the legitimate rights belonging to others.

Users and target audience

The main users of international HLP law in a post-conflict situation should be the national government institutions responsible for organising the return of refugees and IDPs, and for planning and managing reconstruction. It would be these institutions’ responsibility to give consideration to, and apply, the HLP principles acknowledged and agreed upon by the international community.

Where a state party has not signed relevant conventions or agreements, or refuses to apply their provisions because of diverging political interests, it is the role of the international community to make a case for the application of basic HLP principles and rights. The main actors in this context are the relevant UN organisations, such as UNHCR, IOM and UN-Habitat, and aid donors, who can make their engagement in reconstruction conditional upon the application of HLP rights. Non-governmental organisations supporting refugees and IDPs, and other champions of restorative justice and reconstruction based on human rights can also play an important role in promoting HLP rights.

Approaches and instruments

The Pinheiro Principles outline the UN principles on housing and property restitution for refugees and displaced persons. Guidance on implementing the principles are contained in the Handbook on Housing and Property Restitution for Refugees and Displaced Persons.

In addition, the Global Protection Cluster provides essential HLP guidance and tools on its website. The HLP Coordination Toolkit contains a set of key tools for coordinating the HLP response in emergencies. It is available in English and French, and aims specifically to support country-level HLP coordination mechanisms.

From an operational perspective, the actions and approaches described below can also promote the application of HLP rights in the context of recovering and restoring urban cultural heritage.

Documentation of pre-conflict HLP rights

© Jens Kalaene/Picture alliance/ZB

HLP rights existing in historic city centres should be assessed as early as possible, initially by examining and documenting all pre-war legitimate HLP rights and their holders.

As a general rule, official land registers are not reliable sources of information because pre-war documents may have been destroyed or falsified.

Information is best gathered from IDPs and refugees living in camps or communities in other countries. Even those who left home without documents can, by way of personal testimony, be a primary source of the information required not only to document their claims, but also to establish their rights once the conflict has been resolved by a political solution.

Information can also be furnished by international, grassroots and local non-governmental organisations that are supporting reconstruction or otherwise engaging with local neighbourhoods. They may not have access to HLP data, but often accumulate information about the individuals and families who formerly lived in the relevant areas.

HLP rights should be documented on the basis of pre-war maps and/or satellite images, and the pre-war names of streets, squares, parks etc. should be used.

HLP rights in peace agreements

© Muhmmad Al-Najjar/Sopa Images/Picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com

The best way of ensuring that HLP rights are given adequate consideration when historic city centres are being reconstructed is to make provision for them in peace agreements. In particular, at least the following HLP-related rights should be included in these agreements:

  • Refugees and IDPs’ rights to return voluntarily in safety and dignity
  • Everyone’s right to freedom of movement, to choose their residence, to participate fully and equally in public affairs, and to have equal access to public services
  • Equal rights to the restitution of property
  • Right to full, effective and prompt compensation – only as a last resort if restitution is impossible
  • Equal rights to adequate housing
  • Protection from arbitrary and unlawful displacement and forced eviction

These rights should be underpinned by additional provisions on programmes, procedures and mechanisms governing the process of return and restitution. These should define at least:

  • Bodies and procedures for identifying, verifying and processing restitution claims
  • Bodies, procedures and financial mechanisms for handling compensation
  • Programmes to ensure adequate housing

Supporting HLP dispute resolution mechanisms

© Muhmmad Al-Najjar/Picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com

In view of the lack of trust in the state and its institutions in many post-conflict situations, it is important to establish dispute resolution bodies that can deal with HLP claims.

These may be local authorities or other traditional agencies that are trusted by the people, and in particular by returning refugees and IDPs. State parties would need to ensure that the decisions of these bodies are legally recognised and enforced, with oversight from international organizations where needed. Such bodies should generally be temporary, and their functions limited to war-related HLP claims.

Promotion of HLP rights without a peace agreement

© Muhmmad Al-Najjar/Picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com

If the peace agreement does not provide for the restoration of rights, actors supporting the reconstruction of historic city centres can nonetheless push for such restitution as follows:

  • Making financial and technical support conditional on the restitution of all formerly privately held HLP assets to their legitimate pre-war owners, tenants or other legitimate occupants.
  • Promoting a moratorium on sales, concessions and leases of public HLP assets in historic city centres pending clarification as to whether the state or public authority claiming ownership acquired them without violating any human rights.

Avoiding gentrification

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

Even if restitution initially takes place, there remains a risk that some people may be either unable to return or driven out again later. These circumstances typically arise if restoration and improvement of the urban landscape conforms to middle-class taste while alienating the original residents, either because of public policy – displacement and/or eviction justified by urban planning goals or excessive formal building standards, or through the abuse of market forces – exemplified by increasing rents and the cost of services, or even general living costs.

Successful reconstruction therefore requires instruments to limit gentrification and speculation, as well as mechanisms to protect the original legitimate HLP asset owners against the adverse effects of manipulative increases in housing, land and property prices. Action also has to be taken to ensure that planning and building standards are not misused as instruments of displacement or ethnic cleansing.

A distinct and sometimes large group of people warranting special protection are secondary occupants. These can be new legal owners, whose original home has been requisitioned by one of the fighting parties or temporarily occupied by people displaced from elsewhere. Although such displaced persons do not hold any HLP rights in the area, they have a general right to adequate housing which needs to be respected.

Mostar: Right of return and property restitution

© Cezary Wojtkowski/Picture alliance

The 1995 Dayton Peace Agreement gave refugees and IDPs in Bosnia and Herzegovina the ‘right to return’ and ‘the right to have restored to them the property of which they were deprived in the course of hostilities since 1991, and to be compensated for any property that cannot be restored’. A comprehensive strategy for property repossession was established in 1999 and applied by way of an interagency Property Law Implementation Plan (PLIP) that was supervised by the OHR, OSCE, UNHCR and CRPC. The PLIP was largely completed by late 2006.

In this process more than 200,000 claims were filed for the repossession of housing, property and tenancy rights. More than 94% of the claims were accepted.

In view of this outcome, Bosnia and Herzegovina is seen as a good example of how to address the complex property rights issues that arise after a prolonged conflict. The property law regime upheld the principle of restoring rights that existed prior to forcible migration. It set the rights of returnees above any occupancy rights that accrued later. In particular, local authorities could not deny the tenancy rights attached to apartments in social ownership, even if the tenants did not intend to return or were assumed to have abandoned their flats for reasons other than the war.

Compensation was not considered an option, partly because of a lack of funding, but also in order to avoid legitimising the ethnic cleansing that took place during the conflict. In the absence of compensation, the only option for displaced persons and refugees was to apply for repossession and reconstruction of their pre-war homes.

In the city of Mostar, this treatment of refugees, IDPs and returnees by the administration and the international donor community attracted criticism from some of those who had stayed in the city during the war. Although their houses had also been destroyed as well, they received less support.

Thanks to the restitution policy, the historic central zone of Mostar, where comprehensive ethnic cleansing occurred during the conflict, once again became an ethnically mixed area. Joint administration of the central zone by Bosnians and Croatians, however, proved difficult. In addition to the enormous financial resources required to repair physical damage, political reconciliation was a major challenge. Many of the apartment buildings had been inhabited by Bosnian and Croatians before the conflict, for example, but even after the successful restitution process, the two dominant Bosnian and Croatian nationalist political parties showed little interest in reconstructing these buildings because that would have entailed sharing the benefits with their ethno-national opponents.

Moreover, international donors investing in the reconstruction of Mostar’s historic city centre seldom supported the rebuilding of apartment blocks, but for a few exceptions on the main boulevard. They focused their attention on reconstructing basic technical and social infrastructure, and eventually the Old Bridge.

Although the principle of comprehensive property restitution prevailed, both the return of those who had fled and social reconciliation remained problematic. In May 2016, more than seven years after completion of the restitution process, the Institution of Ombudsman for Human Rights of Bosnia and Herzegovina reported that current and potential returnees were pointing to the numerous difficulties being faced on a daily basis – entire families were unemployed and being denied their rights to health care, disability pensions, social assistance and the like. The position of the Serbs in Mostar and Herzegovina-Neretva was described as extremely difficult; they lacked the fundamental requirements of a constituent people and were unable to share the fate of all citizens and to have an arranged and dignified life. Among the other highlighted shortcomings were the absence of the material resources required to continue with the renewal of Mostar, and a lack of political will, communication and cooperation.

© JF Bianchetto/Picture-alliance/maxppp

Further Reference and Resources

Date: 24. August 2018 | Last modified: 24. May 2019

You might also be interested in...

Yemenis search for survivors under the rubble of old buildings destroyed by an airstrike in the old city of Sana'a, Yemen. 12 June 2015. EPA/ Yahya Arhab

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

Reconstruction Priorities

Another important planning task is to prepare more detailed plans for the priority areas of rebuilding.

© Stefano Bianca

Reconstruction Guidelines

Reconstruction guidelines outline different models for repair, conservation or substitution works.

© Franziska Laue

Reconstruction Directory

A reconstruction directory provides a pragmatic framework for guiding and coordinating the reconstruction process.

© Christophe Simon/Picture alliance/AFP Creative

Vision for Reconstruction

One of the principal tasks when planning culturally sensitive reconstruction is agreeing on the project’s vision and objectives.