© UNESCO

التراث الثقافي العمراني

الاتفاقيات الدولية المتعلقة بالتراث الثقافي العمراني

منذ نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية، وضع المجتمع الدولي، ولا سيما اليونسكو، مجموعةً شاملة من الاتفاقيات والإعلانات حول حماية التراث الثقافي والحفاظ عليه.

وهي تشمل بروتوكولي اتفاقية لاهاي لحماية الممتلكات الثقافية في حالة النزاع المسلح، واتفاقية التراث العالمي لعام 1972، والعديد من التوصيات والمواثيق والاتفاقات الأخرى المتعلقة بحفظ المناطق العمرانية و ترميمها ومخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها.

الأهمية

يفرض، اليوم، التدمير الواسع النطاق للتراث الثقافي العمراني أثناء النزاعات المسلحة، كما هو الحال في سوريا والعراق واليمن، تحديات غير مسبوقة فيما يتعلق بالاستعادة والترميم.

من بين المنظمات المهمة التي تسعى إلى معالجة هذه الصعوبات، اليونسكو والبنك الدولي ومكتب الأمم المتحدة للحد من مخاطر الكوارث (UNISDR) و المجلس الدولي للمعالم والمواقع الأثرية (ICOMOS)، لكن مساعي تلك المنظمات تبقى غير منسّقة في ظل غياب اختصاصات فردية واضحة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإنها تركّز اهتمامها على الآثار القديمة بالدرجة الأولى وتُغفل التجمعات والمدن العمرانية.

وبغض النظر عن التأثير الذي تمارسه المنظمات المذكورة أعلاه، فإن التزامات الدول الأطراف ما قبل النزاع بالاتفاقيات الدولية ذات الصلة يمكن أن يلعب دوراً هاماً في صياغة رؤية وأهداف إعادة الإعمار. ينطبق ذلك بشكل خاص على المواقع المدرجة في لائحة اليونسكو للتراث العالمي، والتي يتوجّب لزاماً على القيّمين عليها حفظ وحماية واستعادة القيمة العالمية البارزة نظراً لأهميتها لأجيال الحاضر والمستقبل.

المستخدمون والجمهور المستهدف

رغم أن الدول الأطراف تقر بالمسؤولية السيادية عن التراث الثقافي عند توقيعها على الاتفاقيات الدولية، فإن دعوة الدول إلى الوفاء بالتزاماتها هي غالباً عملية غير مثمرة أثناء الحروب الأهلية أو الاضطرابات السياسية. إلا أنه يمكن للمجتمع الدولي والمنظمات المحلية أن تستند إلى جوهر اتفاقيات التراث الدولية وتقدم الالتماس من أجل القيام بإعادة الإعمار المراعية للخصائص الثقافية.

الأدوات والوسائل

اتفاقية لاهاي لحماية الممتلكات الثقافية في حالة النزاع المسلح

© Gutbrod/Picture alliance/dpa

تشمل هذه الاتفاقية التراث الثقافي المنقول وغير المنقول. كان العائق الرئيسي أمام نجاح بروتوكولها الأول، الذي اعتمد عام 1954 و سعى إلى حماية “الممتلكات ذات الأهمية الكبرى للتراث الثقافي لكافة الناس”، هو وجود قوائم غير كاملة وغياب التعريف الواضح.

في أعقاب مزيد من النزاعات، تم تمرير بروتوكول آخر عام 1999 يرمي إلى تعزيز الاتفاقية، وينص على إنشاء نظام حماية لـ “التراث الثقافي ذو الأهمية البالغة للبشرية”.

تعتمد فعالية الاتفاقية وبروتوكوليها في نهاية الأمر على حسن النية ومبدأ التعامل بالمثل، ولن تكون ذات فائدة ما لم يوقّع عليها كافة أطراف النزاع. إن لم يكن أي من هذه الأطراف جهةً حكومية، فلن يكون مؤهلاً للتوقيع على الاتفاقية

اتفاقية اليونسكو للتراث العالمي لعام 1972

© UNESCO???

تعد هذه الاتفاقية أحد أهم أدوات حفظ التراث العالمي. تتمثل مهمتها الأساسية في تحديد وحماية التراث الطبيعي والثقافي العالمي الذي يعتبر ذا قيمة عالمية استثنائية، وهي تجسد الفكرة الرؤيوية التي تقول أن بعض الأماكن مهمة للغاية بحيث لا تقع مسؤولية حمايتها على عاتق دولة واحدة فحسب، بل على عاتق المجتمع الدولي ككل. توافق الدول الأطراف الموقعة على الاتفاقية على الامتناع عن اتخاذ أي تدابير متعمدة من شأنها إلحاق الضرر بالتراث الثقافي والطبيعي لأطراف أخرى في الاتفاقية، ومساعدة الأطراف الأخرى على تحديد وحماية ممتلكاتها.

يتم تسهيل تنفيذ الاتفاقية من خلال مبادئ توجيهية عملياتية تعرّف إجراءات إدراج المواقع الجديدة، وحماية المواقع، وقوائم الخطر، وتوفير المساعدة الدولية في إطار صندوق التراث العالمي.

تحكم لجنة التراث العالمي الاتفاقية بدعم من مركز اليونسكو للتراث العالمي، وأمانة الاتفاقية، وثلاث هيئات استشارية فنية للجنة: الاتحاد الدولي لحماية الطبيعة (IUCN)، المجلس الدولي للمعالم والمواقع الأثرية (ICOMOS) و المركز الدولي لدراسات حفظ الممتلكات الثقافية وترميمها (ICCROM).   الاتحاد الدولي لحماية الطبيعة هو الهيئة الاستشارية للتراث الطبيعي، وهو يراقب المواقع المذكورة في القائمة ويقيّم المواقع الجديدة المرشحة لقائمة التراث العالمي من خلال تطبيق معايير الاختيار الطبيعية ذات الصلة.

تدرك الاتفاقية مجموعة التهديدات لتدمير التراث الثقافي والطبيعي، بما في ذلك اندلاع نزاع مسلح، و الموارد غير الكافية، في كثير من الأحيان، المتاحة للدولة المتأثرة.

قائمة التراث العالمي المهدد بالخطر

© UNESCO ???

تقوم لجنة التراث العالمي بإعداد ونشر قائمة بالتراث العالمي المهدد بالخطر، تحتوي على مواقع مهددة بمخاطر خطيرة ومحددة، مثل:

  • المشاريع الإنمائية
  • اندلاع أو تهديد نزاع مسلح
  • الكوارث الطبيعية.

تسعى اللجنة إلى الحصول على موافقة الدول الأطراف قبل أي إدراج في قائمة “المُعرّض للخطر”، ولكن في الحالات التي يكون فيها الموقع مهدداً ولا توجد حكومة فعلية، يمكن أن تصل اللجنة إلى قرار بمفردها. عندما تقوم اللجنة بإدراج موقع جديد في القائمة يتوجب عليها نشره على الفور.

تحتوي قائمة التراث العالمي المهدد بالخطر حالياً على 54 ملكية، يقع أكثر من نصفها في الشرق الأوسط. تم إدراج معظم معالم التراث العالمي في أراضي سوريا واليمن والعراق على قائمة التراث العالمي المعرض للخطر.

الإجراءات القانونية من خلال محكمة الجنايات الدولية

© Jerry Lampen/Pool/Picture alliance/dpa

محكمة الجنايات الدولية هي منظمة حكومية دولية ومحكمة دولية تقع في لاهاي في هولندا. إدراكاً لأهمية حماية التراث الثقافي من الهجمات في أوقات النزاع، قامت اليونسكو و محكمة الجنايات الدولية بإعطاء الصفة الرسمية لتعاونهما وبتعزيزه من خلال التوقيع على إعلان النوايا في تشرين الثاني عام 2017.

في تصريح بمناسبة التوقيع، قالت إيرينا بوكوفا، المدير العام لليونسكو “إن التدمير المتعمّد للتراث الثقافي لا يؤثر فقط على هوية الناس التاريخية بل يغذي العنف الطائفي ويعيق التعافي وبناء السلام في مرحلة ما بعد النزاع. يجب على اليونسكو و محكمة الجنايات الدولية تعزيز تعاونهما لحماية الممتلكات الثقافية أثناء النزاعات المسلحة، فهي ضرورة إنسانية وأمنية.”

إن الحكم التاريخي الأخير لمحكمة الجنايات الدولية في قضية تدمير الأضرحة والمزارات في تمبكتو (مالي)، والذي كان الأول من نوعه، أظهر بوضوح أن الاستهداف المتعمّد للتراث الثقافي جريمةً خطيرة تسبب معاناة كبيرة للمتأثرين منها مباشرةً وسواهم. أصدرت المحكمة بعد ذلك أمراً بجبر الضرر، ينص على أن لضحايا هذه الجرائم الحق في الحصول على تعويض.

وقد تمت الإشارة إلى أهمية مقاضاة المسؤولين عن جرائم الحرب ضد التراث الثقافي في القرار رقم 2347 الصادر عن مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة، والذي كان أول من أدان التدمير غير المشروع للتراث الثقافي. في السنوات الأخيرة، أدت هذه التطورات غير المسبوقة إلى تعاون متكرر بين اليونسكو ومكتب المدعي العام في محكمة الجنايات الدولية، استناداً إلى تقارب الأهداف في إطار صلاحياتهما المستقلة.

.

مراجع أخرى

أصدرت محكمة الجنايات الدولية الخاصة بيوغوسلافيا سابقاً حكماً على جنرال يوغوسلافي سابق، من بين أمور أخرى، لتدمير و إيذاء موقع التراث العالمي في مدينة دوبروفنيك القديمة.

دراسة حالة لتدخل اليونسكو لحماية واستعادة موقع التراث العالمي في دوبروفنيك في كرواتيا

© Picture alliance/dpa

دوبروفنيك مدينة جميلة في جنوب كرواتيا تطل على البحر الأدرياتيكي، وهي تشتهر ببلدتها القديمة المميزة، والتي تم بناؤها في القرنين الخامس عشر والسادس عشر وتحيط بها جدران حجرية ضخمة. تشمل المباني التي حُفظت جيداً عبر التاريخ كنيسة القديس بليز، وقصر سبينوزا  من عصر النهضة، وقصر ريكتور القوطي. في عام 1979 أصبحت المدينة واحدة من أوائل المواقع المدرجة في قائمة التراث العالمي.

في الفترة بين تشرين الأول 1991 وأيار 1992، تمت محاصرة المدينة من قبل الجيش الشعبي اليوغوسلافي الذي كان يسعى لتحقيق مكاسب على الأرض. ليس لمدينة دوبروفنيك أي أهمية عسكرية استراتيجية – كان الهدف من الهجوم على تراثها الثقافي هو تدمير أحد رموز الهوية الوطنية الكرواتية. أضرّ هذا الفعل العدواني بـ 542 معلماً من المعالم المعمارية في وسط المدينة التاريخية.

شملت الإجراءات المتخذة لحماية المدينة القديمة:

  • تحديد المعالم المعمارية بوضوح من خلال وضع علامة من علامات الحماية وفق اتفاقية لاهاي لعام 1954 لحماية الممتلكات الثقافية.
  • حماية الآثار المعمارية ذات الأهمية الكبيرة بأكياس من الرمل أو وسائل أخرى.
  • تم تذكير الجيش الشعبي اليوغسلافي بالتزاماته فيما يتعلق باتفاقية لاهاي لعام 1954.
  • في تشرين الثاني 1991، أرسلت بعثة من اليونسكو إلى دوبروفنيك لمساعدة القائمين على الحفظ ومؤرخي الفن المحليين في تحليل وتسجيل الأضرار. باستخدام الرسومات المعمارية والصور الفوتوغرافية والوثائق التي تم إنتاجها بعد وقوع زلزال عام 1979، أنشأ خبراء اليونسكو نظاماً للتوثيق يصنّف المباني التاريخية وفقاً لمدى الضرر وإمكانية الاستخدام.
  • كنتيجة لهذه المهمة، تمّ إدراج المدينة في قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي المعرضة للخطر من أجل جذب الانتباه الدولي إلى الوضع و الشروع بتدابير الحماية الضرورية في حالات الطوارئ.

بعد نزاع البلقان، قام الخبراء الكرواتيون والدوليون الذين يمثلون اليونسكو بوضع خطة عمل تحدد أولويات ومنهجية إعادة الإعمار، بما في ذلك استخدام تقنيات ومواد بناء تقليدية، والحفاظ على البنى الأصلية، والحفاظ على المباني التاريخية.

في كانون الأول 1998 تمت إزالة مدينة دوبروفنيك من قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي المعرضة للخطر.

© Jürgen Schwenkenbecher/Picture alliance

المزيد من المراجع و المصادر

Date: 24. August 2018 | Last modified: 16. August 2019

You might also be interested in...

Yemenis search for survivors under the rubble of old buildings destroyed by an airstrike in the old city of Sana'a, Yemen. 12 June 2015. EPA/ Yahya Arhab

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

أولويات إعادة الإعمار

تتمثل إحدى المهام الأخرى الهامة للتخطيط في تحديد أولويات إعادة الإعمار وترجمتها إلى عمل مشترك يستند إلى خطط مفصلة.

© Stefano Bianca

إرشادات لإعادة الإعمار

تقدّم الإرشادات توجيهاً لمختلف أنواع أنشطة إعادة الإعمار التي تغطي مدينة تاريخية كاملة أو أحياء أو ساحات مستقلة.

© Franziska Laue

دليل إعادة الإعمار

تتطلب مراكز المدن التاريخية شديدة التضرر استثمارات كبيرة والتزاماً طويل الأمد. هناك طريقة عملية للتصدي لهذه التحديات وهي تتمثل في

© Christophe Simon/Picture alliance/AFP Creative

رؤية لإعادة الإعمار

تتمثل إحدى المهام الرئيسية، عند التخطيط لإعادة الإعمار المراعية للاعتبارات الثقافية، في الاتفاق على رؤية شاملة وعلى أهداف محددة.

© UNESCO

Urban Cultural Heritage

International conventions on urban cultural heritage

Since the end of the Second World War the international community, notably UNESCO, has developed a comprehensive body of conventions and declarations on protecting and preserving cultural heritage.

These include the two protocols of The Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict, the World Heritage Convention of 1972, and numerous other recommendations, charters and accords relating to urban conservation, restoration, disaster risks and management.

Relevance

Today’s widespread destruction of urban cultural heritage during armed conflicts, as exemplified in Syria, Iraq and Yemen, poses unprecedented challenges as regards recovery and restoration.

Among the key organisations seeking to address these difficulties are UNESCO, the World Bank, the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR), and the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), but their endeavours remain uncoordinated in the absence of clearly defined individual competences. In addition, they have been focusing primarily on ancient monuments and overlooking urbanised settlements and cities.

Apart from the influence exerted by the forenamed organisations, the pre-conflict commitments of state parties to relevant international conventions can play an important role in formulating the vision and objectives of reconstruction. This applies in particular to the listed UNESCO World Heritage Sites, whose custodians are obliged to conserve, protect and restore the outstanding universal value that is important for current and future generations.

Users and target audience

Although state parties accept sovereign responsibility for cultural heritage when they sign international conventions, calling on nations to fulfil their obligations is often a fruitless undertaking in times of civil war or political unrest. Nonetheless, both the international community and local organisations can invoke the body of international heritage conventions and petition for culturally sensitive reconstruction to take place.

APPROACHES AND INSTRUMENTS

The Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict

© Gutbrod/Picture alliance/dpa

The UNESCO Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict covers immovable and movable cultural heritage. The success of its first protocol, adopted in 1954, which sought to protect ‘property of great importance to the cultural heritage of every people’, was hampered primarily by incomplete lists and a lack of clear identification.

In the wake of further conflicts, a second protocol was passed in 1999 with the purpose of strengthening the convention. It provided for the establishment of a system of enhanced protection for ‘cultural heritage of the greatest importance for humanity’.

The effectiveness of the convention and its two protocols ultimately depend on good faith and reciprocity, and it lacks useful purpose unless all parties to a conflict are signatories. If any such parties are not state actors, moreover, they are disqualified from signing the convention.

UNESCO World Heritage Convention 1972

© UNESCO

The 1972 UNESCO Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage (World Heritage Convention) ranks among the most important global conservation instruments. Its primary mission is to identify and protect the world’s natural and cultural heritage considered to be of outstanding universal value. It embodies the visionary idea that some places are so important that responsibility for their protection rests not solely with a single nation, but with international community as a whole. State parties signing the convention agree to refrain from any deliberate measures capable of damaging the cultural and natural heritage of other parties to the convention, and to help other parties to identify and protect their properties.

Implementation of the convention is facilitated through operational guidelines, which define the procedures for new inscriptions, site protection, danger listings, and the provision of international assistance under the World Heritage Fund.

The convention is governed by the World Heritage Committee with the support of the UNESCO World Heritage Centre, the Secretariat for the Convention, and three technical advisory bodies to the Committee: IUCN, ICOMOS and ICCROM. IUCN is the advisory body on natural heritage. It monitors listed sites and evaluates new sites nominated to the World Heritage List by applying the relevant natural criteria for selection.

The convention recognises both the spectrum of threats of destruction to cultural and natural heritage, including outbreaks of armed conflict, and the often insufficient scope of resources available to the affected state party.

List of World Heritage in Danger

Cultural Heritage in Danger © UNESCO

The World Heritage Committee prepares and publishes a List of World Heritage in Danger containing sites that are threatened by serious and specific dangers, such as:

  • development projects
  • the outbreak or threat of armed conflict
  • natural disasters.

The Committee seeks state parties consent prior to any ‘in danger’ listing, but in cases where a site is threatened and there is no effective government in place, it can reach a decision on its own. Each time the Committee makes a new entry in the list, it is required to publicise it immediately.

The List of World Heritage in danger currently contains 54 properties, more than half of which are situated located in Middle East. Most World Heritage properties in the territories of Syria, Yemen and Iraq are inscribed on the List of World Heritage in Danger.

Legal action through the International Criminal Court

© Jerry Lampen/Pool/Picture alliance/dpa

The ICC is an intergovernmental organisation and international tribunal that sits in The Hague in the Netherlands. In recognition of the importance of protecting cultural heritage from attack in times of conflict, UNESCO and the ICC formalised and enhanced their collaboration by signing a letter of intent in November 2017.

In a statement marking the signing, Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO, said, “The deliberate destruction of cultural heritage not only affects people’s historical identity but fuels sectarian violence and hampers post-conflict recovery and peace-building. UNESCO and the ICC must strengthen their cooperation for the protection of cultural property in armed conflicts, as this is a humanitarian and security imperative.”

The recent historic ruling of the ICC in the case of the destruction of shrines and mausoleums in Timbuktu (Mali), which was the first of its kind, clearly demonstrated that the intentional targeting of cultural heritage is a serious crime which causes significant suffering to those immediately affected and beyond. The court subsequently issued a reparation order, establishing that the victims of such crimes were entitled to compensation.

The importance of prosecuting those responsible for war crimes against cultural heritage was echoed in the ground-breaking UN Security Council Resolution 2347, which was the first to condemn the unlawful destruction of cultural heritage. In recent years these unprecedented developments have prompted frequent exchanges and collaboration between UNESCO and the ICC Office of the Prosecutor, based on the convergence of aims within their respective independent mandates.

UNESCO intervention to protect and recover the World Heritage Site of Dubrovnik in Croatia

© Picture alliance/dpa

The city of Dubrovnik in southern Croatia fronting the Adriatic Sea is famous for its distinctive Old Town, which was built in the 15th and 16th centuries and is encircled by massive stone walls. Its well-preserved buildings include the Baroque St. Blaise Church, the Renaissance Sponza Palace and the Gothic Rector’s Palace. In 1979 the city became one of the first sites to be included in the World Heritage List.

Between October 1991 and May 1992 the city was besieged by the Yugoslav People’s Army (JNA), which was striving for territorial gains. Dubrovnik does not have any strategic military importance – the purpose of attacking its cultural heritage was to destroy a symbol of Croatian national identity. This act of aggression damaged 542 architectural monuments in the historic city centre.

Action taken to protect the old city included:

  • Architectural monuments were clearly identified by a mark of protection sign in line with the 1954 Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property.
  • The most important architectural monuments were protected with sandbags or other means.
  • The JNA was reminded of its obligations in respect of the 1954 Hague Convention.
  • In November 1991 a UNESCO mission was sent to Dubrovnik to support local conservators and art historians in analysing and recording the damage. Using architectural drawings, photographs and documents produced after an earthquake in 1979, the UNESCO experts established a documentation system that classified the historic buildings according to the extent of their damage and usability.
  • As a result of this mission, the city was inscribed in the List of World Heritage Sites in Danger in order to draw international attention to the situation and initiate the necessary emergency protection measures.

After the Balkan conflict, Croatian and international experts representing UNESCO drafted an action plan which defined priorities and a methodology for reconstruction, including the use of traditional construction techniques and materials, the preservation of original structures, and the conservation of historic buildings.

In December 1998 the city of Dubrovnik was removed from the List of World of Heritage Sites in Danger.

© Jürgen Schwenkenbecher/Picture alliance

Further Reference and Resources

Date: 24. August 2018 | Last modified: 5. June 2019

You might also be interested in...

Yemenis search for survivors under the rubble of old buildings destroyed by an airstrike in the old city of Sana'a, Yemen. 12 June 2015. EPA/ Yahya Arhab

© Yahya Arhab/Picture alliance/dpa

Reconstruction Priorities

Another important planning task is to prepare more detailed plans for the priority areas of rebuilding.

© Stefano Bianca

Reconstruction Guidelines

Reconstruction guidelines outline different models for repair, conservation or substitution works.

© Franziska Laue

Reconstruction Directory

A reconstruction directory provides a pragmatic framework for guiding and coordinating the reconstruction process.

© Christophe Simon/Picture alliance/AFP Creative

Vision for Reconstruction

One of the principal tasks when planning culturally sensitive reconstruction is agreeing on the project’s vision and objectives.