© Mohamed Messara/Picture alliance/dpa

الضرر المؤسساتي

الضرر المؤسساتي

الحرب والنزاع المسلح لا يدمران المباني والبنى التحتية المادية فحسب، بل يعطّلان البنى والقدرات المؤسساتية ويدمرانها، لا سيما في حالة الأعمال القتالية طويلة الأمد.

الهجرة والتهجير القسري للموظفين الإداريين المؤهلين وذوي الخبرة و الاختصاصيين تضعف بشكل خطير من القدرات المؤسساتية ويمكن أن تؤدي إلى انهيارها. ويمكن للتطهير ذو الدوافع السياسية لبنى الحكم والإدارة العامة الهادف لإزالة أيّ معارضة محتملة أو حقيقية خلال النزاع، لكن في أعقابه بشكل خاص، أن يزيد من تفاقم الضرر.

لذلك يجب استكمال تقييم الضرر المادي الواقع بسبب الحرب من خلال تقييم للضرر الذي لحق بالمؤسسات. يجب إجراء هذا التقييم في أقرب وقت ممكن بعد انتهاء القتال.

كما هو الحال مع تقييم الضرر المادي، يمكن إجراء تقييم مبدئي للضرر الواقع على المؤسسات ما دام النزاع مستمراً بدون حل، وقبل أن يصبح العمل الميداني ممكناً. ومع ذلك، من المهم التحقق من هذا التقييم الأولي وتحديثه بمجرد أن تصبح الظروف الميدانية مواتية.

الأهمية

من أجل صياغة استراتيجية ونهج لإعادة الإعمار، من الضروري تقييم الضرر الذي لحق بالهياكل والقدرات السياسية والمؤسساتية.

يوفّر هذا التقييم الأساس لتعريف خيارات إعادة الإعمار أو الحاجة إلى إجراء تجديد شامل. في بعض الحالات، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى بنى ومؤسسات وقدرات جديدة تماماً.

بغية الحصول على الدعم والمشاركة، من المهم تحديد الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية وأصحاب المصلحة والشركاء، بالإضافة إلى القدرات والموارد اللازمة.

وسيتعين توضيح مسؤوليات وأدوار ووظائف الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية وأصحاب المصلحة خلال كل مرحلة من مراحل الاستعادة وإعادة الإعمار. سيركز هؤلاء الأشخاص أولاً على الترتيبات المؤسساتية وإجراءات الطوارئ العاجلة، مثل إزالة الأنقاض واستعادة السلامة العامة، قبل تولي مهام التخطيط الأكثر شمولاً وتنفيذ برامج إعادة الإعمار.

المستخدمون والجمهور المستهدف

إن المستخدمين الرئيسيين لتقييم الأضرار المؤسساتية هم الذين يطالبون أيضاً بالوضوح فيما يتعلق بالمسؤوليات، وبالتحديد الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية التي ترغب في تعزيز وبدء إعادة الإعمار المراعية للخصائص الثقافية، ولديها صلاحية باتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة.

من المرجح أن تشمل هذه المجموعة المؤسسات الحكومية المحلية والوطنية والمنظمات المدنية ومبادرات المواطنين. من بين الجهات الفاعلة المحتملة الأخرى المنظمات الدولية التي تشجع إعادة الإعمار المناسب، مثل اليونسكو، والجهات المانحة متعددة الأطراف أو الثنائية.

في معظم الحالات، تُعد إعادة الإعمار المراعية للخصائص الثقافية نشاطاً سيادياً، وتتطلب بالتالي قدراً معيناً من الدعم من الجهات الحكومية. إذا تم تحديد المسؤوليات المقترحة مبدئياً من قبل جهات غير حكومية أو جهات فاعلة خارجية، فيجب مشاركتها ومناقشتها مع الجهات الحكومية المعنية من أجل التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء بشأن البنية المؤسساتية الأولية.

ويكتسي هذا الأمر أهمية قصوى في حال قدمت جهات فاعلة أو مبادرات مختلفة تقييمات ومقترحات مؤسساتية متباينة، أو إذا كان قد تم اعتماد ترتيبات مؤسساتية استباقية أو غير مفيدة.

النهج والأدوات

يعتمد كل من النُهج والأدوات المستخدمة لتقييم الأضرار الواقعة على المؤسسات والتوضيح الأولي للمسؤوليات على الجهات الفاعلة التي ترغب في إجراء التقييم وعلى الظروف الموجودة على أرض الواقع.

إذا استمر النزاع، أو كان الحل السياسي معلقاً، فربما من الممكن إجراء تقييم أولي فقط، في صيغة دراسة مكتبية والاعتماد على المعلومات والأبحاث الثانوية. يمكن إثراء هذه الدراسة إذا أمكن بمعلومات من أفراد مطلعين، وتواصل مع أفراد في الموقع المعني، ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. في مثل هذه الحالات، ستكون النتائج والاستنتاجات مؤقتة ومبدئية فقط، ومن غير المرجح أن تتحقق الاتفاقات بشأن البنى المؤسساتية الأولية. وسيتعين تعليق هذه الأمور إلى أن يتحسن الوضع الميداني.

حتى إذا كان التفاعل على أرض الواقع ممكناً، فإن مقدار الضرر الذي لحق بالبنى والقدرات المؤسساتية قد يجعل من الصعب حشد الخبرات اللازمة لأداء تقييم ملائم و/أو العمل مع شركاء والاتفاق على نتائج واستنتاجات و توصيات.

باختصار، يجب تكييف الأدوات المختارة وتطبيقها بما يلائم الظروف المحلية.

مسح أصحاب المصلحة

© Credit to be inserted

يعد مسح أصحاب المصلحة أداةً عملية أثبتت فائدتها في تحليل وتقييم الأطراف والجهات الفاعلة المعنية، بالإضافة إلى مصالحهم ومواقفهم وأدوارهم المحتملة في تخطيط العمليات المعقدة وتنفيذها. يمكن تطبيق المسح لمجموعة متنوعة من الأغراض، بما في ذلك إدارة المشاريع، وإدارة الأعمال أو حل النزاعات. ويمكن استخدامه أيضاً في سياق تقييم الضرر الواقع على المؤسسات.

تصف خريطة أصحاب المصلحة الجهات الفاعلة وعلاقاتها وأدوارها، وهي تميز عادةً بين:

  • الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية، القادرة على استخدام مهاراتها ومعرفتها و/ أو مكانتها في اتخاذ القرارات أو ممارسة تأثير كبير؛
  • الجهات الفاعلة الأولية التي تتأثر بشكل مباشر لأنها قد تكسب أو تفقد السلطة أو الامتياز أو النفوذ، أو الجهات المستفيدة من أي تدخّل أو عمل؛
  • الجهات الفاعلة الثانوية، التي تكون مشاركتها أو اهتمامها غير مباشر أو مؤقت فقط، كمقدمي خدمات أو منتجات محددة على سبيل المثال؛
  • لاعبو الفيتو، الذين يعتبر دعمهم ومشاركتهم أمراً بالغ الأهمية. قد يكونون قادرين في بعض الحالات على استخدام الفيتو أو وقف تدخّل أو عمل محدد. ويمكن أن يكونوا من اللاعبين الأساسيين أو الرئيسيين أو الثانويين.

نظراً لمرونة الحدود بين هذه الفئات، وتغير العلاقات بينها بمرور الوقت، فإن خريطة أصحاب المصلحة لا تقدم عموماً سوى لمحة للوضع الموجود في وقت معين. ولذلك يجب تحديثها بانتظام خلال مراحل التخطيط اللاحقة.

تقدم خريطة أصحاب المصلحة الجيدة الإعداد في بيئة ما بعد النزاع نظرةً عامة على جميع الجهات الفاعلة المعنية. فهي تمكّن الأطراف المهتمة من استخلاص النتائج وصياغة الفرضيات عن تأثير الجهات الفاعلة وعلاقاتها المتبادلة ومراكز النفوذ والتبعيات، وبالتالي تقدم رؤية متعمقة للتحالفات والنزاعات الفعلية والمحتملة.

كما يمكن أن تساعد في صياغة الخيارات والأفكار الاستراتيجية المتعلقة بفاعلين محددين، وفي تعريف المساهمة التي يمكن أن تقدمها الجهات الفاعلة لتطوير الرؤية والأهداف لإعادة الإعمار.

ﮐﻣﺎ يوﻓر مسح أﺻﺣﺎب اﻟﻣﺻﻟﺣﺔ أﺳﺎﺳﺎً ﻟﺗﻘﯾﯾم اﺣﺗﯾﺎﺟﺎت اﻟﻘدرات و تشكيل ﻓرﯾق ﻋﻣل أوﻟﻲ ﻟﻟﺷروع ﻓﻲ ﻋﻣﻟﯾﺔ اﻻﺳﺗﻌﺎدة وإﻋﺎدة اﻹﻋﻣﺎر.

تقييم احتياجات القدرات

يعد تقييم احتياجات القدرات أداةً أخرى يمكن تطبيقها لتقييم الأضرار الواقعة على المؤسسات والناجمة عن نزاع مسلح. وغالباً ما يتضمن ذلك مقارنة بين القدرات الضرورية والموجودة من خلال تحليل الفجوة بينهما. وفي السياق المحدد لحالة ما بعد النزاع، من المهم للغاية تحديد الإجراء الذي يتعين اتخاذه لاستعادة القدرات المفقودة أو المعطلة بسرعة وبطريقة عملية وواقعية.

غالباً ما يكون تقييم الاحتياجات الأولية للقدرات نقطة البداية لصياغة استجابة لتنمية القدرات:

  • تتضمن الخطوة الأولى عموماً تقييم الموظفين والموارد الأخرى التي لا تزال موجودة أو يمكن حشدها بسرعة، مثل الأشخاص المؤهلين الذين هم على استعداد للعودة، أو المعدات الأساسية التي يمكن شراؤها.
  • في الخطوة الثانية، يمكن قياس الموارد المتاحة مقابل المؤهلات والمهارات والموارد الأساسية اللازمة لتلبية الاحتياجات الأكثر إلحاحاً للعمل.
  • وأخيراً، يتم وضع استراتيجية لسد الفجوات القدراتية المعرّفة و حشد الموارد الإضافية اللازمة أو الحصول عليها.

على المدى الأطول، سيوفر تقييم أشمل لاحتياجات القدرات الأساس لصياغة استراتيجية شاملة لتنمية القدرات، وبخاصة لبناء الدعم السياسي والقدرات المؤسساتية اللازمة لعملية الاستعادة وإعادة الإعمار.

نظراً للافتقار إلى خبرة عملية واسعة ودراسات حالة مستفيضة فيما يتعلق بإعادة بناء كادر الموظفين، فإن القدرات المؤسساتية والسياسية وبعد التوقف الذي تعرضت له (في بعض الأحيان لفترة طويلة) بسبب النزاع المسلح، تتطلب استجابةً قصيرة الأمد واستراتيجيةً على مدىً أطول لتنمية القدرات. إن عملية إعداد السياسات هذه تتطلّب مراعاة الحساسية، خاصة عند مواجهة تحديات المصالحة الاجتماعية والسياسية بين العائدين الذين غادروا لأسباب سياسية و/ أو أمنية وبين الذين ظلوا أثناء النزاع. قد يكون هؤلاء الأفراد مشبوهين سياسياً وربما لم يعد يُنظر إليهم كفاعلين شرعيين في بيئة ما بعد النزاع.

تشكيل فرقة عمل

© Anette Gangler

إن كان ممكناً ومجدياً، يمكن استخدام مسح أصحاب المصلحة وتقييم النقص في القدرات كأسس لتشكيل فرقة عمل أولية للشروع في عملية الاستعادة وإعادة الإعمار.

في استجابة سريعة لتنمية القدرات، يمكن إنشاء فريق أساسي صغير لمعالجة الاحتياجات الأكثر إلحاحاً. ووفقاً لاستراتيجية تنمية القدرات على المدى الأطول، يمكن أن يتحول فريق المهام الأولي هذا لاحقاً إلى فريق مشروع كامل، أو حتى إلى منظمة لإعادة إعمار المدينة القديمة.

في هذا الهيكل المؤسساتي والتنظيمي الناشئ، من المهم تحديد الأدوار والمسؤوليات الرئيسية لاستعادة وترميم التراث الثقافي العمراني للمدن التاريخية القديمة. ويشمل ذلك:

  • المهام والوظائف النمطية المتعلقة بالعمل الطارئ لاستعادة الحد الأدنى من السلامة والأمن العام هي: إزالة الأنقاض، وتأمين المأوى المؤقت، وإصلاح البنية التحتية الأساسية، والإشراف على ومراقبة أعمال إعادة الإعمار والإصلاح الأولية للسكان وأصحاب الأعمال.
  • على المدى الأطول، يجب مناقشة المسؤوليات الخاصة بإدارة وتنسيق تخطيط إعادة الإعمار، ومهمة التخطيط نفسها، والموافقة عليها. سيتطلب ذلك النظر في البنى المؤسساتية والإجراءات وآليات المشاركة التي ستكون لازمة عند اتخاذ القرارات المتعلقة بالرؤية والأهداف العامة والأولويات والمراحل المختلفة لإعادة الإعمار.

أخيراً، يجب تحديد وتنسيق المسؤوليات والوظائف والمساهمات المتعلقة بالتنفيذ. وسيتعين في هذا السياق إيضاح المساهمات والمصادر و برامج التمويل والمشاريع والتدابير في كافة مراحل عملية إعادة الإعمار.

مزيد من المراجع و المصادر

© Mohamed Messara/Picture alliance/dpa

Institutional Damage

Institutional Damage

War and armed conflict not only destroy buildings and physical infrastructure, but also disrupt and devastate institutional structures and capacities, especially in the case of prolonged hostilities.

Flight and the forced migration of qualified and experienced managerial, professional and administrative staff seriously weaken institutional capacities and can even lead to their collapse. The politically motivated cleansing of governance structures and public administration in order to remove potential or real opposition during the conflict, but in particular in its aftermath, can further aggravate the damage.

The assessment of physical war damage therefore needs to be complemented by an appraisal of the damage done to institutions. This assessment should be performed as soon as possible after the end of fighting.

As with the assessment of physical damage, institutional damage can be provisionally assessed while the conflict remains unresolved and before engagement on the ground becomes possible. It is crucial, however, that such an initial assessment is verified and updated once conditions on the ground are more conducive.

Relevance

In order to formulate a strategy and approach for reconstruction, it is essential to assess the damage done to political and institutional structures and capacities.

Such an assessment provides the basis for identifying the options for rebuilding or the need for an overhaul. In some instances completely new structures, institutions and capacities may be required.

For the purpose of procuring support and engagement, it is important to identify the key actors, stakeholders and partners, as well as the necessary capacities and resources.

The responsibilities, roles and functions of the key actors and stakeholders during the individual stages of recovery and reconstruction will need to be clarified. These persons will focus first on institutional arrangements and urgent emergency action, such as clearing debris and restoring public safety, before taking charge of more comprehensive planning tasks and implementing reconstruction programmes.

Users and target audience

The primary users of institutional damage assessments are those who are also seeking clarity as regards responsibilities, namely the key actors who wish to promote and initiate culturally sensitive reconstruction, and have a mandate to take the necessary action.

This group is likely to include local and national government institutions, civil organisations and citizens’ initiatives. Among the other potential actors are international organisations that promote appropriate reconstruction, such as UNESCO, and multilateral or bilateral donors.

In most cases, culturally sensitive reconstruction is a sovereign activity and therefore requires a certain amount of support from state actors. If the provisionally proposed responsibilities are developed by non-governmental or external actors, they will need to be shared and discussed with the relevant state actors in order to bring about a consensus regarding an initial institutional structure.

This is all the more crucial if different actors or initiatives present diverging assessments and institutional proposals, or if pre-emptive or unhelpful institutional arrangements have already been adopted.

Approaches and instruments

Both the approaches and instruments used for an institutional damage assessment and the initial clarification of responsibilities depend on the actors wishing to perform the assessment and on the conditions that exist on the ground.

If the conflict is ongoing or a political solution is still outstanding, only an initial assessment, in the form of a desk study and relying on secondary information and research, may be possible. If feasible, such a study can be enriched with information from knowledgeable individuals, personal contacts in the relevant location, and social media. In such cases, findings and conclusions will be only tentative and preliminary, and agreements on initial institutional structures are unlikely to materialise. These matters will have to be put on hold until the situation in the field improves.

Even if interaction on the ground is possible, however, the amount of damage done to institutional structures and capacities may make it difficult to mobilise the expertise required to perform an adequate assessment, and/or to engage with partners and agree on findings, conclusions and recommendations.

In summary, the selected tools and their application have to be adapted to suit the local conditions.

Stakeholder mapping

© GIZ

The mapping of stakeholders is a practical instrument that has proven useful for analysing and assessing relevant parties and actors, as well as their interests, attitudes and potential roles in planning and implementing complex processes. Mapping can be applied for a variety of purposes, including project management, business administration or conflict resolution. It can also be used in the context of an institutional damage assessment.

A stakeholder map depicts actors and their relationships and roles, and typically distinguishes between:

  • key actors, who are able to use their skills, knowledge and/or position of power to make decisions or exert significant influence;
  • primary actors who are either directly affected because they stand to gain or lose power, privilege or influence, or are the beneficiaries of any intervention or action;
  • secondary actors, whose involvement or interest is only indirect or temporary, e.g. providers of specific services or inputs;
  • veto players, whose support and participation are crucial. In some cases they may be able to veto or stop a specific intervention or action. Veto players can be key, primary or secondary actors.

Given that the boundaries between these categories are usually fluid, and that relationships change over time, a stakeholder map generally provides only a snapshot of the situation existing at a particular time. It therefore needs to be updated regularly during later planning stages.

A well-prepared stakeholder map in a post-conflict setting provides an overview of all the relevant actors. It enables interested parties to draw conclusions and formulate hypotheses on the actors’ influence and their mutual relationships, power constellations and dependences, and thus offers an insight into actual and potential alliances and conflicts.

It can also help in the formulation of strategic options and ideas concerning specific actors, and in defining the contribution the actors could make to developing the vision and objectives for reconstruction.

Stakeholder mapping also provide the basis for a capacity needs assessment and for establishing an initial task force to embark on the process of recovery and reconstruction.

Capacity needs assessment

A capacity needs assessment is another instrument that can be applied to assess the institutional damage caused by an armed conflict. This often involves a comparison of necessary and existing capacities, performed by way of a gap analysis. In the specific context of a post-conflict situation, it is crucial to identify the action that needs to be taken in order to recover lost or impaired capacities quickly and in a practical and pragmatic way.

An initial capacity needs assessment is often the starting point for formulating a capacity development response:

  • The first step generally entails assessing the personnel and other resources that are still in place or can be mobilised quickly, e.g. qualified people who are willing to return or basic equipment that can be procured.
  • In a second step, the available resources can be gauged against the key qualifications, skills and resources needed to address the most urgent needs for action.
  • Finally, a strategy is developed for filling the identified capacity gaps and mobilising or procuring the necessary additional resources.

In the longer term, a more thorough capacity needs assessment will provide the basis for formulating a comprehensive capacity development strategy, in particular for building the political support and institutional capacities needed for the process of recovery and reconstruction.

In view of the lack of extensive practical experience and case studies concerning the rebuilding of personnel, institutional and political capacities following their disruption by armed conflict, both a short-term capacity development response and a longer-term strategy are needed. This policy-making calls for sensitivity, especially when addressing the challenges of social and political reconciliation between returnees who left for political and/or security reasons and those who stayed during the conflict. These individuals may have become politically compromised and may no longer be regarded as legitimate actors in the emerging post-conflict environment.

Establishing a task force

© Anette Gangler

Where possible and feasible, the mapping of stakeholders and the assessment of capacity shortages can be used as a basis for establishing an initial task force to embark on the process of recovery and reconstruction.

In a quick capacity development response, a small core team can be established to address the most urgent needs. In line with a longer-term capacity development strategy, this initial task force can later grow into a fully-fledged project team, or even an Old City reconstruction organisation.

In this emerging institutional and organisational set-up, it is important to define the key roles and responsibilities for recovering and restoring the urban cultural heritage of historic old cities. This encompasses:

  • Typical tasks and functions relating to emergency action to restore minimum public safety and security are debris clearance, the provision of temporary shelter, the repair of basic infrastructure, and the supervision and control of the initial reconstruction and repair activities of residents and businesses.
  • In the longer term, the responsibilities for managing and coordinating reconstruction planning, and for the task of planning itself, will need to be discussed and agreed. This will entail giving consideration to the institutional structures, procedures and participation mechanisms that will be required when decisions are being made about the overall vision and objectives, and to the priorities and individual phases of reconstruction.
  • Finally, the responsibilities, functions and contributions relating to implementation will have to be established and coordinated. In this context the contributions to, and sources for, financing programmes, projects and measures throughout the reconstruction process will need to be clarified.

Further Reference and Resources

Date: 24. August 2018 | Last modified: 16. August 2019

You might also be interested in...

Collage © GIZ

Housing, Land and Property

Housing, land and property (HLP) rights are about people having a home, free from the fear of forced eviction –

© UNESCO

Urban Cultural Heritage

Since the end of the Second World War the international community, notably UNESCO, has developed a comprehensive body of conventions

Photo showing the Umayyad Mosque in the old city of Aleppo, northern Syria, with debris from its destroyed minaret. 8 February 2017. Kyodo.

© Kyodo/Picture alliance

National Law

The most relevant legal framework for urban recovery and reconstruction is defined by the body of relevant national law. In